Skip to content

Romanian Orthodox Church

23/08/2011

The Romanian Orthodox Church is a Church of apostolic origins, born out of the mission of St Andrew the Apostle, who preached the Word of the Gospel also in the old Roman province of Scythia Minor, the territory between the Danube and the western part of the Black Sea, present Dobrogea (south-east of Romania).
On 25 April 1885, the Romanian Orthodox Church became autocephal (self-governing) and on 25 February 1925 she was elevated to the rank of Patriarchate, being in dogmatic, liturgical and canonical communion with the other Sister Orthodox Churches.
According the last census, (2002), Romania has a population of 21,794,793 inhabitants, of which 86,7 % declared themselves as Christian Orthodox.

. Organisation
The Romanian Orthodox Church is organised as Patriarchate and comprises:
within the country: 6 Metropolitanates, made up of Archdioceses and Dioceses, with a total of 13,527 parishes, served by 14,513 priests and deacons, in 15,218 places of worship;
for the Romanian Orthodox from abroad, there are 3 Metropolitanates (made up of 3 Archdioceses and 6 Dioceses) in Europe; an Archdiocese on the American continent and a Diocese of Australia and New Zealand.
A) Central Organisation
The Holy Synod is the highest authority of the Romanian Orthodox Church in all her matters of activity. The Holy Synod is made up of the Patriarch, as president, and all metropolitans, archbishops, bishops, assistant bishops to the Patriarch and assistant bishops in function.
The deliberative central body of the Romanian Orthodox Church for all administrative, social, cultural, economical and patrimonial issues is the National Church Assembly, made up of three representatives of each diocese or archdiocese (a clergy and two lay persons), appointed by the respective diocesan assemblies for a term of four years. The members of the Holy Synod take part in it with deliberative vote.
The central executive body, both of the Holy Synod and of the National Church Assembly, is the National Church Council, made up of twelve members of the National Church Assembly (one clergy and one lay person representing each metropolitanate from Romania, designated for a term of four years). The members of the Holy Synod may take part in it with deliberative vote.
The Primate of the Romanian Orthodox Church is His Beatitude Patriarch DANIEL, elected on 12 September 2007 and enthroned as the 6th Patriarch of Romania on 30 September 2007.
B) Local Organisation
The administrative units of the Romanian Orthodox Church are:
parohia;
monastery;
deanery;
eparchy (archdiocese and diocese);
metropolitanate.
2. Monastic Life
The Romanian Orthodox Church has 637 monasteries and skates with more than 8,000 monks and nuns.

3. Theological Education
The Romanian Orthodox Church comprises:
33 Theological Seminaries at high school level;
11 Faculties of Theology and 4 Departments of Theology, which are part of the state university education system, having 9,365 students in several specialities
More than 10,000 professors teach religious education in state schools

(www.patriarhia.ro)

From → In English, Religions

16 commenti
  1. Web sites of this nature are beneficial for me.
    I will put up a link to this page on my web Post. I’m certain my site visitors will find this very helpful. Thanks for your insight!

  2. What’s up to all, how is the whole thing, I think every one is getting more from this site, and your views are pleasant for new users.

  3. If you would like to grow your knowledge just keep
    visiting this web page and be updated with the most recent news posted here.

  4. Thank you for creating excellent information and facts, this Post features good
    informative information for everyone, which can be
    hard to find these days !!

  5. Hello There. I discovered your blog the usage of msn.

    That is a really neatly written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and
    return to learn extra of your helpful info.

    Thank you for the post. I will definitely comeback.

  6. 22. Re-gifting is a flawlessly satisfactory strategy to minimize waste following
    a principle with the Three or more Urs (Re-use, Decrease and Recycle) –provided those items you’re re-gifting bring a few benefit to the people you intend to give the crooks to. Instead of hiring a DJ or catering your holiday event, make sure that your holiday party invitations encourage your talented friends to perform, bring dishes for a potluck or provide entertainment in the form of a white elephant gift exchange or ornament exchange.

  7. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your site. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me
    to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your theme?
    Outstanding work!

    • Hi,
      Thank you🙂, I did not hire no one, it is a personal blog and the theme you can find it on wordpress. It is very easy to create a blog and is not necessary to be a professional, everybody with basic knowledge of internet and writing applications can do it!

  8. naturally like your web site but you have to test the spelling on quite a few
    of your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling problems and
    I in finding it very troublesome to inform the truth on the other hand I’ll certainly come back again.

    • Thank you for your advice, I will try to keep more attention to my spelling. I believe you are talking about english posts, isn’t?

  9. Hey there I am so delighted I found your website, I really found
    you by mistake, while I was researching on Aol for something else, Regardless
    I am here now and would just like to say kudos for a tremendous post and
    a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time
    I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the awesome work.

    • Thank you Lagan Pillay, I’m happy you like my blog. Thank you for your beautiful words of encouragement, unfortunately I don’t have time right now to go back to write but I’ll do it soon as possible and I’ll write something about the amazing Greece where I’m spending my time right now!
      Thank you again

  10. Hmm it looks like your website ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any suggestions for inexperienced blog writers? I’d really appreciate it.

    • The only comment I have from you is this one😦, I don’t know nothing about “your first comment” and I’m really sorry.
      Thank you for visiting my blog and enjoying it, thank you for your appreciations.
      Suggestions for inexperienced blog writers???? I am one of them!!! What I’m doing is what I feel, this is the beauty of a “blog”, it gives you the right to write and speck up your thoughts or knowledge …just follow your instinct! Wish you luck and let me have your blog address to follow you!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Cultural Christianity? | Koinonia

Lascia un commento

