Skip to content

THE EGYPTIAN MUSEUM OF TURIN

25/08/2011

One of the most beautiful place I’ve visit in Italy is The Egyptian Museum of Turin (Museo Egizio), was an amazing experience and I’ll be back there some day. Surrounded by mummies, papyri, stone statues, sphinxes, tombs dating over 4000 years was a magic experience that I will never forget. Is not necessary to be a lover of ancient Egypt or an archaeologist to admire every each room of the Museum, because is nothing there inside insignificant.

The Egyptian Museum of Turin is the most important in the world after Cairo Museum dedicated  exclusively to Egyptian art and culture and was founded in 1824 by Carlo Felice di Savoia who bought the collection of Bernardino Drovetti, French Consul in Egypt. . Museum importance was confirmed also by Jean-François Champollion who wrote the famous note: “The road to Memphis and Thebes passes through Turin”.

The museum’s exhibits are the most impressive in all of Europe, displaying renowned artifacts and sculptures from Egyptian royalty including Princess Redit, King Thutmosi III and King Ramses II, sandstone sphinxes dating back to the 12th century BC, incredibly well-preserved mummies from as far back as

2400 BC, and the reconstructed tomb of Kha, which includes sarcophagi, statues, clothing, and furniture from 3500 BC.

There are no words to describe such a beautiful place, to understand that you must spend few hours trough the ancient Egypt pages in the “Museo Egizio”.  In “Porta Nuova” train station you can find a good touristic info point which you’ll found maps, touristic guides, metro tickets, public transport information and a professional staff at your disposition to make your visit much comfortable. Also you can visit the official website of the Museum for more details (www.museoegizio.it).                                                                                                          By R.I.

 

 

 

From → In English, Others

20 commenti
  1. Hello just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a few off the
    images aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure
    whyy but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in
    two different browsers and both show the same outcome.

  2. It is the best time to make some plans for the future and it is
    time to be happy. I have read this post
    and if I could I desire to suggest you few interesting things or tips.
    Maybe you could write next articles referring to this article.
    I want to read even more things about it!

  3. Hi I am grateful, I have been Googling for this info for more than an hour. We are planning a romantic getaway and have not been able to consolidate this data anywhere else. Weare very honored to have found the info I are after. We will make sure to notify our friends that your website was the only place on the net that had the infromation we where after. THANKS!

  4. What’s up, this weekend is nice in favor of me, as this moment i am reading this impressive informative article here at my residence.

  5. The article posted was very helpful and useful. You people are doing
    an excellent job. Keep posting.

  6. I don’t know whether it’s just me or if perhaps everybody else encountering problems with your
    website. It appears as if some of the written text in your content
    are running off the screen. Can somebody else please comment and let me know
    if this is happening to them as well? This may be a issue with my browser because I’ve had this happen before. Thank you

  7. Howdy! I know this is somewhat off-topic but I needed to ask.
    Does building a well-established website like yours
    require a large amount of work? I am brand new to blogging however I do write in my journal on a daily basis.
    I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my personal experience and thoughts online. Please let me know if you have any kind of ideas or tips for brand new aspiring bloggers. Thankyou!

  8. You’re so cool! I don’t believe I’ve read through something like that before. So wonderful to find someone with a few unique thoughts on this subject matter. Really.. thanks for starting this up. This web site is one thing that is required on the internet, someone with a little originality!

  9. 整然とした流出右'”右もの心コンテンツ:好きではないドリルダウンまたは多分、肉の詳細水分はされます真実、職業の各各ストレート染色に、グリーンエリア区域敷物s。枯渇する必要がありますと同義ですをブロックもあなたが提供するによる、苦労を持っている、で撮影を緩めるを通じて、救済ずっと前にを提供します。製品に抽出。ハーディのいくつかの並べ替えsoapだろう実際に人の変色地上および敷物というのように醜い。

  10. Figuring out unique gift ideas you’ve needed for those special occasions is not easy. At least for most people that is the situation. The fascinating thing with all the concept behind unique gift ideas is that they surely don’t want to pricey but the emphasis is really on the originality of the unique gift ideas themselves.
    Real thoughts that are also helpful and enjoyable to the
    recipient are naturally also very significant.

  11. It’s very effortless to find out any matter on web as compared to books, as I found this paragraph at this web page.

  12. I think this is one of the such a lot significant info for me.
    And i am glad studying your article. But want to
    commentary on some normal things, The web site taste is perfect, the articles is truly nice :
    D. Good activity, cheers

  13. It’s going to be end of mine day, except before end I am reading this impressive article to improve my knowledge.

  14. Well I definitely enjoyed studying it. This post offered by you is very helpful for accurate planning.

  15. Later on you will have to work at encouraging them to take additional scoops of
    vegetable but that’s a different issue. Even sweets can bring out good hormones if taken in just the right amounts. A healthy diet to lose weight should not just work by reducing the excess weight of the body.

  16. Can I just say what a relief to find an individual who genuinely
    understands what they’re discussing on the net. You actually realize how to bring a problem to light and make it important. A lot more people have to check this out and understand this side of the story. It’s surprising you
    are not more popular since you most certainly possess the gift.

    • Hi,
      Thank you for the comment. I am not interesting to be popular since this is just a hobby, it is about in what I believe or not, what I like or not.

  17. I do agree with all the ideas you’ve introduced to your post. They are really convincing and can definitely work. Nonetheless, the posts are very quick for starters. Could you please extend them a bit from subsequent time? Thanks for the post.

    • Hi,
      I don’t have problem to extend the argument, I just think there are all the information you need on the official website of the museum (www.museoegizio.it). Any question you have, just ask and I’ll answer you.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Food strikes in Ancient Egypt – The Turin Strike Papyrus, etc. « Dianabuja's Blog

Rispondi

Iscriviti

Ricevi al tuo indirizzo email tutti i nuovi post del sito.

Unisciti agli altri 100 follower

